Knit Picks Chroma yarn: the good, the bad, and the (definitely not) ugly

I’d like to introduce a new feature on my blog: yarn reviews. Yarnies on Ravelry have access to information on yarns through comments, but I rarely see thought-out, in-depth reviews of the yarns. So, I’ve decided to start writing my own.

KP Chroma

The colors in this yarn are just fantastic.

I recently ordered several skeins of Knit Picks’ new Chroma yarn, which is more or less their answer to Noro.

The yarn, a single ply, comes in a worsted weight (198 yard/100g balls) and a fingering weight (396 yard/100g balls).

Overall, I’d give this yarn an 8.5 out of 10, would definitely order it again, and would recommend it to a friend.

Pros:

  1. scarf

    The Colors – Of course the colors are on the top of my list. They’re bright, vibrant, and the repeats are long and subtle enough that they self-stripe fetchingly without pooling (unless you were to use it for a very wide object like a blanket). If you like bright, spring/summer colors, there is a lot of selection for you. I also like that they do include two solid colors to pair with the other colorways for things like striping and fake isle knitting.

  2. The Texture – This yarn is soft. Being a single, the strand is very smooth and slides easily through your fingers.
  3. Consistency – While there is a bit of thick-and-thin to the yarn, it’s not really a huge variance, and I’m not noticing it affecting the appearance of my knitting.
  4. The Price – As usual, it’s very hard to beat Knit Picks’ prices. For $9, you get either 198 yards of worsted weight, or 396 yards of fingering weight. That’s compared to 110 yards of Noro Kureyon (worsted) for the same price, or 195 yards of Crystal Palace Mini Mochi (fingering) for about 50 cents less. It averages out to 4.5 cents a yard for the worsted Chroma vs. 8 cents a yard for the Kureyon, and 2.3 cents a yard for the fingering Chroma vs. 4.4 cents a yard for the Mini Mochi.

Cons:

  1. Not Plied – As I mentioned before, this yarn is a single. Granted, it is mostly a personal preference thing, but I generally prefer to knit with plied yarns over singles. The spinning in some areas of this yarn seems a little loose, and while it doesn’t seem fragile, it’s easy to accidently poke through a strand while knitting, especially if you have sharp needle tips.
  2. Not Many Dark/Muted Colors – While there are 16 non-solid colorways, only 5 or 6 contain darker/muted colors without bright colors. While the bright colors are nice, it’s good to have some muted colors to pair with and help showcase the brights.
  3. No Black Solid – I think it’s great that there are solid colorways offered to pair with the more colorful ones, but I think there should be a black colorway in addition to the brown and white solids.
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. cynthia rose

     /  January 14, 2011

    thanks for the review! very helpful! can’t wait to try this yarn. I wish they’d made a gray solid.

    Reply
  2. Angie

     /  October 4, 2011

    Exactly the information I was looking for. Thanks for taking the time to share. I’m going to order some and see how it works. I’m interested to see the thick/thin as compared to Noro. I wonder if you’d want to show swatches of each? Not for me, just to show. It’s kind of asking a lot. :)

    Reply
  3. Rose Harbin

     /  January 15, 2012

    How abouit washability of Chroma for childrens hats etc.?

    Reply
  4. digipicsphotography

     /  March 17, 2012

    I ordered some and have it now. But I haven’t decided what to make with it. It seems a bit too soft for socks. I like my sock yarns to have some structure to them so they don’t feel like they are constant slipping down..whether they actually are or not. I was thinking perhaps a scarf or shawl. But I’m still at the undecided stage. :-)

    Reply
  5. Rusty

     /  March 12, 2013

    Where can you buy it in Ontario Canada

    Reply
    • I believe the only place you can purchase Chroma is at knitpicks.com, but they do ship to Canada.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

