Season of the scarf (plus a tip!)

Now, I like a challenge. I like knitting lace, because it captures my attention. I enjoy cables, because I have to pay attention to what I’m doing.

So how is it then, that I’ve ended up doing almost nothing but scarves this year (all one week of it)?

striped scarf

I like how the grey and black look together, don't you?

First up was the beginning of my Boyfriend Scarf.

My boyfriend needs a nice warm scarf, and I had a Michaels gift card from Christmas, so we went and picked out some yarn.

We originally planned to get some Lion Brand Amazing to do a Noro Striped Scarf, but the store was out of stock. So, we ended up with some black and some grey Patons Classic Wool, and I started going at the scarf. Not the most exciting pattern in the world, about 40 stitches of k1p1 ribbing per row, but I planned to change color every other row, and it was for my boyfriend, so it wasn’t terrible.

I got about 7 or 8 inches in before getting wrapped up in my next project…

Evan's scarf

Okay, so a 3-foot-long toddler scarf isn't bad...

My Evan’s Scarf.

A family member’s toddler was in need of a scarf, so I offered to make one. After all, no one wants to see a little kid cold. And besides, little kids are so cute when they’re all bundled up!

Of course, it also gave me an excuse to go to the yarn store during their New Year/LYS anniversary sale and get a raffle ticket for door prizes (I won a small bottle of Eucalan!).

I picked up some Plymouth Encore and started another, smaller k1p1 scarf. As it was for a toddler, it only took a couple days to finish.

Which brings me to my current project: my Prism Chroma scarf.

Prism scarf

oooooh, look at all the pretty colors!

The day after I finished my Evan’s Scarf, I got my Knit Picks order in the mail, containing some of their new Chroma yarn (which I posted a review of yesterday). I had ordered the Chroma so that I could make Noro Striped Scarves for myself and my sisters.

So far, I’ve gotten through one full repeat of the rainbow. Luckily, the colors are changing often enough to keep me interested, despite the k1p1 knitting. And the yarn is soft and nice to work with.

hair elastic tip

Hair elastics are a scarf's best friend.

At least while I’ve been working on all these scarves, I’ve developed a good tip to avoid frustration: as your scarf gets longer, fold it up and secure it with a hair elastic.

This keeps the hanging length of the scarf short, preventing it from dragging on your lap/table and getting twisted, which is something that I know has personally frustrated me when working on scarves.

What’s nice about this tip is that it keeps the scarf compact, making it perfect for working on on the go, too!

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. The month of the gloves (and hat and cowl and monster) « FantasyFlyte Knits

Leave a Reply

