More patterns available now!

I’m happy to say that, since my last pattern update in December, I’ve added four new patterns for sale on Ravelry!

Blizzard Winds Cowl

Blizzard Winds Cowl

The first two patterns were released a couple months ago and are a matching winter accessories set: Blizzard Winds Cowl and Blizzard Winds Hat.

I’d been in a regular designing mood one night and came up with this swirling pattern one night, no specific goal for it in mind. I also had decided that I wanted to experiment with picot edging, with I thought went well with the colorwork.

Blizzard Winds Hat

Blizzard Winds Hat

I happened to be working on the cowl during the Blizzard of 2013 back in February, when we got a record 3 feet of snow (No exaggeration there, we literally got 3 feet) in Connecticut.

As I was knitting, I realized the black swirls on the grey background reminded me of the blowing snow and wind outside at the time, and the bumpy picot edging reminded me of the snow drifts piling up, so I named the cowl after the blizzard. The hat soon followed.

The next pattern was released last month, my Staggered Diamonds Cowl.

Staggered Diamonds Cowl

Staggered Diamonds Cowl

I’ve always liked playing with twisted stitch designs ever since I was introduced to the idea back in 2009 when I knit my first pair of CanCan wristwarmers.

Since then, I’ve played with  twisted stitches on a regular basis, first introducing them into one of my designs with my Twisted Diamond Mitts.

The tricky part with these types of designs is that it’s difficult to make the pattern continuous when you’re using it in the round. Because the twisted stitches are essentially two-stitch cables, continuing them across the beginning/ending of a round would require traveling stitch markers, and would increase the difficulty of the project quite a bit, especially for beginning knitters.

You can see the break in the pattern here

You can see the break in the pattern here

I’ve struggled with how to address the beginning/ending of rounds in my patterns with colorwork as well. Since knitting in the round means knitting a spiraling tube, the end of one round lines up with the beginning of the next round, creating a jog in many continuous patterns, whether they’re colorwork, regular cables, or twisted stitches.

To solve this issue with my diamond cowl, I decided to avoid the jog and the traveling stitch markers completely by making a definitive beginning and ending to the stitch pattern that coincided with the beginning and ending of each round.

My most recent pattern, Mad about Merino Mitts, was just released today.

Mad about Merino Mitts

Mad about Merino Mitts

This pattern was particularly exciting for me to design, because it incorporates several different techniques, including one I hadn’t used in a design before: the lateral braid.

The pattern was designed to use up leftover yarn I had after finishing my Fabergé shawl, and I wanted to experiment with patterns to really showcase the lighter grey against the darker grey.

I’d seen the lateral braid before in other patterns, and it seemed like the perfect way to really block out the diamond pattern in the light yarn.

The diamond pattern is similar to the one in my Staggered Diamonds Cowl, with a smaller version on the hand and a larger version on the cuff.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Favorite Pattern Friday: CanCans | FantasyFlyte Knits

Leave a Reply

